2019 Cricket World Cup | Bangladesh vs Afghanistan

2019 Cricket World Cup | Bangladesh vs Afghanistan

Afghanistan captain Gulbadin Naib won the toss and elected to field against Bangladesh in their World Cup match in Southampton on Monday.

Afghanistan made two changes, bringing in Dawlat Zadran and Samiullah Shinwari in place of Aftab Alam and Hazratullah Zazai.

For Bangladesh, Rubel Hossain and Sabbir Rahman made way for Mohammad Saifuddin and Mosaddek Hossain.

The toss was delayed by 10 minutes due to steady rainfall.

(If you are viewing this on The Hindu app, click this link to open the scorecard in your browser)

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Mustafizur Rahman

Afghanistan: Gulbadin Naib (c), Samiullah Shinwari, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Ikram Ali Khil, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Eager to keep the semi-final hopes alive, a desperate Bangladesh will have their work cut out when they take on a spirited Afghanistan in a do-or-die World Cup encounter in Southampton on Monday.

England’s defeat at the hands of Sri Lanka on Friday breathed air into Bangladesh’s hopes of securing a semifinal berth and the ‘Tigers’ will be keen on making the most of the situation starting with a win over the bottom-placed Afghanistan.

The Mashrafe Mortaza-led side, which is currently placed at sixth spot with five points, has batted pretty well so far in the tournament.


Read full preview

Source link

Facebook Comments
Translate »